Return to Headlines

Bob Jones Wins National Education Award

The U.S. Department of Education named Bob Jones High School a 2020 National Blue Ribbon School for academic excellence.

The 2020 National Blue Ribbon School inductees comprise  just 317 of the 131,000 K-12 public schools across America.
Principal Sylvia Lambert and Superintendent Dr. Ed Nichols gathered with BJ staff and administrators for the official announcement at noon. Bob Jones won in the category of Exemplary High Performing Schools.
Schools in this category represent their state's highest performing schools as measured by state assessments or nationally normed tests.  

Principal Sylvia Lambert at podium
Bob Jones Principal Sylvia Lambert

Ms. Lambert said the award is an opportunity for BJ teachers, staff and students to be recognized for their hard work and commitment to excellence.
"This affirms the dedication and effort of our educators in creating a learning environment for students to master challenges and with relevant content," Ms. Lambert said.
She added that the award should also be a reminder to the community of the academic excellence and nurturing culture at BJHS, as well as the entire Madison City Schools district from PreK through 12th grade.

Superintendent Dr. Nichols congratulated BJHS for the National Blue Ribbon School award and what it says about the caliber and hard work of faculty, staff, students and parents.
Dr. Nichols said it is a reflection of the "commitment made years ago to create an atmosphere of success that has been a hallmark of  this high school since its beginning."
Bob Jones was a National Blue Ribbon School awardee in 1994. Both Bob Jones and James Clemens high schools have historically been ranked among the top 10 high schools in Alabama over the last several years by NICHE and have consistently been top performers in athletics, the arts and academics.

More info:

Superintendent Nichols with Bob Jones Administrative Team
AP Andre Reynolds, Supt. Dr. Nichols, Principal Sylvia Lambert, AP Courtney Horton, AP Tom Runnion. (Missing is AP Amy Thaxton)