Return to Headlines

2023 MCS State Chess Champs Recognized by BOE

The Madison City Board of Education recognized the following students for their performance in the State Scholastic Chess Championship held recently in Alabaster. Madison City Schools produced numerous top finishers in the tournament.
Winners listed below. Also see Madison Record story.

group pic of chess members in front of board room


High School Winners

High School Team Champions: BJHS
BJ Team*: Victor Lundy, Steven Pan, Isiah Mares, Andrew Yang, Nirvana Rajbhandari,
Eddie Xiao
Individual Winners: 
HS Championship: Sherwood Dong 4th.
HS Under 1200: BJHS 2nd place team
BJ Team: Aaron Chen*, Caroline Wang*, Artem Starenki, and Janvi Prajapati

Middle School Winners

Jr High Team Champions: Discovery Middle School
DMS Team*: Xavier Bruni, Jacob New Aadi Saxena, and Caden Jordan
MS Under 1200: DMS 3rd place team
DMS Team: Noah Hsu, Joseph Park, Rushi Patel, Sean Rowe, and Cohen Tate

Elementary School Winners

Elementary Team Champions: Horizon Elementary
Horizon Team*: Esteban Jerez, Theodore Piper, and Kylie Zou
Elementary Under 700 Team
Rainbow Elementary (1st ): Abigail Barbre*, Zane Kerby*, Emory Howell*, Cora
Newberry*, and Penelope Jones
Columbia Elementary (3rd ): Si Cha* and Grace Lee*

Individual Winners: Elementary Championship: Dheeren Pammina (tied for 10th )
Elementary Under 700: Sughan Manoharan 4th ,Felix Heiden (tied for 10th )

Primary School Winners

Primary Team Champions
Columbia Elementary (1st place): Arjun Sathees*, Aryaa Sathees*, Thomas Burbank*,
Junpei Noda, Sung Cha, and Kosei Noda.
Rainbow Elementary (2nd place): Asher Allison*, Annabelle Hsu*, Dennis Lenski, and
James Hooper
Horizon Elementary (3rd place): Alize Zou* and Samuel Ellis*
Primary Under 400 Team: Rainbow Elementary 3rd place
Rainbow Team: Greyson Pitchko*, William Newberry, Shepherd Lecroy, and Colin

Individual Winners:
Primary Championship: Avyaktha Subramania 8th
Primary Under 400: Beckett Dupuis 9th , William Bostick 10th