Return to Headlines

Alabama Writers Forum Winners MCS

Congratulations to senior Katie Tanner (BJHS) for being recognized for her nonfiction, fiction, and poetry in the individual categories. She also won 1 of the 4 state senior writing portfolio scholarships!
Also, congratulations to BJHS student Amy Athing for winning 1st place in the state for her poetry submission! Finally, congratulations to Emily Duong for her nonfiction special judges’ recognition and to Brandon Smith for his fiction special judges’ recognition! This is a highly competitive contest that is usually dominated by the Alabama School of Fine Arts, Indian Springs, Loveless Academic Magnet Program, and Booker T. Washington Magnet School, and Bob Jones had a great showing this year. Great job to our creative writing and publications students!